facebook twitter You Tube Instagram


 NYSPHSAA Sportsmanship Matters Brochure

2015-2016 Battle of the Fans
2015-2016 NYSPHSAA Battle of the Fans Champion
Webster Schroeder High School (Section 5)
Here’s more about the competition…


Positive Sportsmanship
Student Body Participation
School Spirit
Originality of Cheers
Organization of the Group
Student Section Leadership
Overall Impression / FUN

2015-16 NYSPHSAA Battle of the Fans Submission Playlist:


After all videos have been posted (Monday, January 11th), the NYSPHSAA staff will choose the Top 3 Finalists.


Members of the NYSPHSAA staff will tour around New York and visit the 3 Finalists on a home game night. We’ll shoot and edit our own video to document our experience at your school. We'll also meet with the school's student leaders and write stories about our experience. The videos and stories can be found on the NYSPHSAA's website, under the Overtime Sports section, and we'll also tweet the links and post to Facebook for other students to see.


YOUR VOTE COUNTS! Vote via the NYSPHSAA Facebook Page, Instagram Page, and Twitter Feed! No matter the size of your school, get your classmates and community to VOTE! Votes will be counted in comparison to the size of the school. 500 votes from a school with 1,000 students is better than 500 votes from a school with 2,000 students.


The winner will be announced before the start of February break on Friday, February 12th. A presentation will be made during a school sporting event or school-wide assembly following the conclusion of the NYSPHSAA Winter Championships.


Monday, January 11th NOON  Video Submission Deadline
Tuesday, January 12th-Friday, February 5th  Finalists site visits by NYSPHSAA
Wednesday, February 10th-Friday, February 12th Voting via Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter
Friday, February 12th Battle of the Fans Champion Announced
TBA Presentation of banner to winning school


Check out our 2014-2015 Winners at Bethlehem High School & 2013-2014 Winners at Norwich High School! Who wants to join them as BATLLE OF THE FANS CHAMPIONS???

2013-2014 Champion: Norwich High School (Section 4) 2014-2015 Champion: Bethlehem High School (Section 2)

 Also, check out some of the other awesome fan sections throughout New York!


If you have questions regarding the 2015-2016 Battle of the Fans competition, contact the NYSPHSAA office at (518) 690-0771, email Todd Nelson tnelson@nysphsaa.org, Kristen Jadin kjadin@nysphsaa.org, website@nysphsaa.org, or Tweet @NYSPHSAA!

Stay in the Game

The NYSPHSAA and Time Warner Cable SportsChannel are proud to announce the "Stay in the Game" Sportsmanship Program, launching with the start of the 2013-2014 school year.

Objective:       To recognize schools that complete the entire school year without a disqualification penalty, for unsportsmanlike conduct, for a coach and/or player at all levels of competition.

Recognition:    Each school that meets the objective will receive a decal recognizing the year of accomplishment.

Ceremony:      Each school that meets the objective will be listed in the program at the annual summer meeting recognition dinner.  The Section with the highest percentage of schools that meet the objective will be presented a trophy at the annual summer meeting to display in the section office for a period of one year.

Partnership:  The NYSPHSAA and Time Warner Cable Sports Channel are proud to be able to provide this wonderful recognition program to our member schools.  Sportsmanship is considered the foundation of a strong and healthy interscholastic athletic program.  Promotion of positive sportsmanship is the goal of all interscholastic athletic programs and can only be obtained by administrators, coaches, students, officials, parents, and spectators working together to foster healthy interscholastic experience.