Executive Committee Meeting Recap

Date Posted: 10/16/2018
Author: Chris Watson, Director of Communications

NYSPHSAA Holds Quarterly Executive Committee Meeting in Saratoga

Latham, NY- The New York State Public High School Athletic Association (NYSPHSAA) held its quarterly meeting of its Executive Committee in Saratoga on Tuesday, October 16th. The Committee voted on several key proposals important to the Association’s 787-member schools.

The Executive Committee approved Vernon-Verona-Sherrill High School as the host for the 2020 and 2022 Cross Country Championships, and Chenango Valley State Park as the host of the 2021 Cross Country State Championships. Ocean Breeze Athletic Complex was also approved as the host of the 2020-2022 Indoor Track and Field State Championships.

The committee approved three proposals that relate to the sport of wrestling.  First, it was approved teams must have their schedules finalized no later that Week #28 of the NYSPHSAA Standard Calendar. Additionally, approved for wrestlers competing in a sectional tournament will now be permitted a pound allowance when schools are closed due to a weather emergency.  The third approved wrestling proposal was when a school is closed to a weather emergency on the third day of the appeal timeline, the wrestler will be given one extra day to appeal their original weight assessment.


The format for a separate New York State Federation Championship in the sport of Boys Tennis was approved. The Federation Championship will now be conducted a week after the NYSPHSAA Championships are decided. Procedures for Track and Field Wheelchair student-athletes were approved. They can be found on pages 145-147 of the agenda, located here: http://www.nysphsaa.org/Portals/0/PDF/Committees/Executive/10_16_18%20Executive%20Committee%20Packet.pdf


The meeting was called to order by President Paul Harrica at 9:00 am and the meeting adjourned at 1:35 pm. The next meeting of the NYSPHSAA Executive Committee will be February 1st 2019 at the Embassy Suites in Saratoga Springs.

Click Here to see a list of the items voted on.