NYSPHSAA Announces 2019-2020 Student-Athlete Advisory Committee.

Date Posted: 07/25/2019
Author: Chris Watson, Director of Communications


NYSPHSAA Announces 2019-2020 Student-Athlete Advisory Committee Members

Twelve New Members Welcomed for Upcoming School Year


Latham, NY- The New York State Public High School Athletic Association (NYSPHSAA) is pleased to announce the members of the 2019-20 Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC). This year, 12 new members will join the SAAC, teaming with the 10 returning members who served as juniors last year. The SAAC is made up of two student-athlete representatives, one male and one female, from each of the eleven sections in New York State.

During the 2018-19 school year, the committee created NYSPHSAA Mental Health Awareness Week and had the opportunity to provide input on several proposals including the transfer rule and exceeding the maximum number of contests rule. This year, the committee will continue to promote the mental health initiative. In addition, the SAAC will focus on the creation of a NYSPHSAA Leadership Conference and continue to provide feedback on Executive Committee proposals.  A total of 76 student-athletes applied to be members of this years SAAC.


The 2019-20 Student-Athlete Advisory Committee is listed below:
*indicates new member


Section                                 Student                                                School

1                                              Aiden Riebe*                                     New Rochelle High School

                                                Jessica Polvino                                 Clarkstown North Senior High School

2                                              Devon Wagner*                                 Stillwater Middle/High School

                                                Toussaint Santicola-Jones                Albany High School

3                                              Katherine Capelletti*                         Jamesville-Dewitt High School

                                                Zackary Durr*                                    Oneida Senior High School

4                                              Gavin Bonczkowski*                         Gilbertsville-Mt. Upton Jr./Sr. HS

                                                 Alli Miller                                           Bainbridge-Guilford High School

5                                              Norah Czajka*                                   Penfield Senior High School

                                                Ryan Reynolds                                  Canaseraga School

6                                              Mindy Doktor                                     Akron High School

                                                Nicholas Kramer*                              Williamsville North High School

7                                              Terrence Benedict                             Ticonderoga High School

                                                Abrielle Racine*                                 Northeastern Clinton Sr. High School

8                                              Kevin Carratu                                     Manhasset Secondary School

                                                Jenna Halpin*                                    Locust Valley High School

9                                              Dolce McPherson*                            Fallsburg Jr./Sr. High School

                                                Ryan Strobach                                  Wallkill Senior High School

10                                            Andy Downs                                      H C Williams Senior High School

                                                Olivia McLear*                                   Lisbon Central School

11                                             Erin Holler                                         Smithtown High School-East

                                                Benjamin Glazebnik*                         Half Hollow Hills High School-East                            

“We are excited to welcome the new members and the returning members of the SAAC this school year”, said Dr. Robert Zayas NYSPHSAA Executive Director. “Having student voices in our organization is key to providing feedback to further enhance and improve our programs with our member schools. We congratulate the members of the SAAC on their selection to this committee and look forward to their ideas and contributions during the upcoming school year.”


The SAAC will meet four times via teleconference during the school year. The first meeting will take place Sunday, September 22. The 3rd annual SAAC summit will take place on Saturday November 30th and Sunday December 1st at the Carrier Dome in Syracuse during the NYSPHSAA football championships.


About NYSPHSAA (Twitter: @NYSPHSAA | Facebook: NYSPHSAA | YouTube: NYSPHSAASports):
The New York State Public High School Athletic Association Inc. is a non-profit, voluntary, educational service organization composed of public, parochial, and private schools dedicated to providing equitable and safe competition for the students of its member schools. The organization conducts 32 championship events and governs the rules and regulations of high school athletics in New York State. Membership is open to secondary schools providing interschool athletic activities for boys and girls in grades 7-12.