2018 NYSPHSAA Boys Volleyball State Championship Preview

Author: Brian Minutolo, Intern


2018 Boys Volleyball Championship Beginning New Era in Albany

The Boys Volleyball State Championship is on the move to the Albany Capital Center. After three years at Suffolk County Community College (Section XI), the tournament will move to New York’s capital. The 2018 event begins a three-year bid in Albany that runs through 2020. Opening Ceremonies will begin on Saturday, November 17 at 9:15 a.m.

In the 2017 tournament, Penfield (Section V) edged out Shenendehowa (Section 2) in the fifth set 19-17 to capture their second consecutive Division 1 title. In Division 2, Eden (Section VI) became the first Section VI team to win the tournament by defeating Bellmore-JFK (Section VIII) in the fifth set 15-8.

Since boys’ volleyball became a State Tournament in 2010, McQuaid (Section XI) in Division 1 and Victor (Section V) in Division 2 have won four championships each. Victor won four of the first five Division 2 championships while McQuaid won the first three in Division 1 and another in 2015. Penfield is the only other team to win two championships in a row and will look to tie McQuaid’s record of three. Shenendehowa played in the tournament in 2015 and 2017 but has not yet captured its first title.

The first games on Saturday, November 18th will begin at 10:00 am. The finals will begin at 3 p.m. The schedule is as follows:




Division 1

Court 1

Division 2

Court 2

10:00 am

Match 1

Cicero-North (3) vs. Sachem North (11)

Burnt Hills (2) vs. Eden (6)

Match 2 ASAP

Cicero-North Syracuse (3) vs. Fairport (5)

Eden (6) vs. Bellmore-JFK (8)

Match 3 ASAP

Fairport (5) vs. Sachem North (11)

Burnt Hills (2) vs. Bellmore-JFK (8)



Start time

3:00 pm

(Division 1, Court 1)

3:00 pm

(Division 2, Court 2)